Friends of Naphill Common

The group shall be called The Friends of Naphill Common

Objects:

- To conserve and enhance the natural, historic and cultural heritage of the Common.
- To promote the understanding and enjoyment of the Common.
- To encourage community involvement in caring for and use of the Common.

These aims will be fulfilled by:

- Undertaking practical work.
- Organising events and other activities.
- Promoting co-operation between West Wycombe Estates, local communities, local authorities, Natural England and other interested parties for the benefit of the common.
- Preparing and distributing information, and educational and promotional material.
- Undertaking research, recording and surveys.
- Providing advice and information
- Identifying opportunities for improving the common and its enjoyment.
- Securing and providing funding
- Encouraging respect for the Common
- Maintaining vigilance on mis-use of the common

Membership

Membership shall be open to anyone who is willing to support the aims of the group.

An annual subscription will be charged - £5 per person and £2 for under 18s (Jan 2009) to be reviewed annually.

Equal Opportunities:

The activities of the group will be conducted in such a way to ensure that no person, group or external agency receives less favourable treatment on any grounds.

General Business

The activities of the group will be managed by a Steering Committee elected from members of the group.

The Committee shall consist of 11 members. All members shall be elected annually at an Annual General Meeting by a show of hands of members present. Three of the elected members will be appointed at the AGM to be Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer.

At the AGM all members of the Committee shall stand down but can stand for re-election.

If one of the offices becomes vacant between AGMs the committee will be able to appoint a new office bearer from their own number.

A quorum for the Committee shall constitute a minimum of 5 members of the committee.

Only members of the committee can vote at the committee

Vacancies arising between AGMs can be filled by co-opting members in a non voting capacity.

If the chairman is not able to attend, a chairman will be elected for that meeting only from those in attendance.

The chairman's decision shall be final on all points of order.

The Committee will meet at regular intervals and no less than 4 times per year, one of which must be an Annual General Meeting. All meetings of the Steering committee will be open to all members of the group.

At least 7 days notice must given of any meeting.

The proceedings of all meetings will be recorded in a minute book. All voting shall be a show of hands

A quorum at the AGM must be at least 15 members. If these numbers are not present within twenty minutes of the time stated for any meeting, the meeting shall be adjourned until such time, date and place as the chairman decides.

An Extraordinary General Meeting can be called by a minimum of 15 members.

Accounts

All the group's monies shall be held in a bank account by the treasurer and all cheques and other monies shall be paid into this account. All cheques drawn on behalf of the group shall be signed by two of the three officers.

In the event of a winding up of the group, any assets remaining after the satisfaction of all debt and liabilities shall be distributed for charitable purposes, to be identified at each AGM.

The financial year for the group shall run from 1st January to 31st December.

The AGM shall be held within 6 weeks of the end of the financial year.

An independent auditor shall be appointed to inspect the accounts and he/she will not be a member of the committee.

Insurance

The group will hold personal accident insurance for its volunteers and Public Liability Insurance.

Health and Safety

All members of the group shall through their actions ensure the health and safety of others.

Changing the Constitution

Alteration to this constitution can only be made at the AGM and with the consent of the majority of those present.

A resolution was passed to adopt this constitution on:	
Chairman	